You Don’t Lipread And I Don’t, So Who Does?

tennis

tennis (Photo credit: Marc Di Luzio)

English: It is good sportsmanship to shake han...

Image via Wikipedia

We’ve both been doing it for years with mixed results.  It’s natural to disbelieve us so here’s proof!

A few years ago, a tennis coach brought binoculars to a Wimbledon doubles match and lip-read everything one pair said to each other. He then relayed it back to his opposing team. Cheeky!

The following year all doubles players raised not just their hands but their whole arms across their mouths. Commentators were suddenly clueless about the psychology behind how the tennis players were playing. This was because they had been lip-reading without realising it. The moment it was taken away they stumbled. Experience, love of the game and mostly being ex-players themselves helped them through it.

The English were taken aback by this as Wimbledon is world-renowned for good manners and great tennis, in white as a mark of respect.

Following our original blog, a world tennis star who is now a Commentator for Sky Sports took note.  The following year Sky Sports employed a Lip-speaker.  Hooray, recognition for Lip-speakers who do a very tough job.   On the other hand, we’re big on privacy for the individual, so lip-speaking competitors in a game doesn’t tie in with that.  It could also act as a spoiler!

17 thoughts on “You Don’t Lipread And I Don’t, So Who Does?

  1. Pingback: look at me

  2. I found your blog web site on google and check a couple of of your early posts. Proceed to maintain up the superb operate. I simply further up your RSS feed to my MSN Information Reader. Seeking forward to reading more from you afterward!…

  3. Pingback: Lip-reading ‘Glass of Ice’ « Hearing Wellbeing

  4. nice one for the crazy content on your website, I am very interested in this post and you have really helped me. I have just told a few of my friends about this on FaceBook and they love your content just as much as I do.

    • Hi Leatrice, really great that it helped. It’s the first time it’s been believed. I’ve got some other stuff on lip-reading that I’ll post as I go along.

    • Great, glad you like it. Hey Lamps just wanted to say you’re welcome to ping it or trackback. Is it in ‘favourites’ on your blog? If yes, that is awesome. I’m kinda convinced that giving information to everyone will mean hearing is looked at in a more positive way. What do you think?

  5. hey there and thank you for your info I’ve definitely picked up anything new from right here. I did however expertise several technical issues using this web site, since I experienced to reload the website a lot of times previous to I could get it to load properly. I had been wondering if your web hosting is OK? Not that I’m complaining, but slow loading instances times will sometimes affect your placement in google and could damage your high-quality score if advertising and marketing with Adwords. Anyway I’m adding this RSS to my email and could look out for a lot more of your respective interesting content. Ensure that you update this again very soon..

    • Thanks Jailbreak. Appreciated. Only if you want, say what other information you’re looking for on hearing or email. I have enough material for at least 2 years of blogs as I have a stock to update from a website that was what I used to do. I thought that to be in hearing 24/7, I had to make a living but while it was probably needed to give me life experience, I am sick of business. Let’s talk about hearing instead. Much more fun.

We love feedback!

