The Angel Islington London 2012 Hearing Wellbeing 2012)

The Loneliness of Hearing-Aids

English: bulky and hydrophobic anesthetic mole...

English: bulky and hydrophobic anesthetic molecules accumulate inside the neuronal cell membrane causing its distortion and expansion (thickening) due to volume displacement. Membrane thickening reversibly alters function of membrane ion channels thus providing anesthetic effect. Actual chemical structure of the anesthetic agent per se was not important, but its molecular volume plays the major role: the more space within membrane is occupied by anesthetic – the greater is the anesthetic effect. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

 

 

Hello Everyone

 

“You can hear one-to-one, can’t you? Be grateful.”

 

I try to be grateful but I cannot join in conversations around me because I have a hearing-loss. Sorry to whine but the so-called inbuilt loop programme doesn’t work properly. It works a bit, like a layer of foundation on the face makes an even layer, but hearing in a group of three women yesterday was useless. It did distract me. I was there for a dental appointment so any distraction is good.

 

I’m sure she gave me instructions at the end, but I was long past absorbing them. She had asked whether I wanted an anaesthetic before proceeding with a chip on a tooth. What? At the dentist with no painkiller?

 

“W can see how we go. Tell me if it hurts.”

 

Of course it hurts, I lift my hand. “Aagh argh …” it’s difficult to enunciate anything when someone’s fingers are in your mouth.

 

“Are you okay?  Oh the gum is sensitive.” She said and shifted to somewhere a little less painful.

 

Later I found out that she hadn’t used anaesthetic on the previous visit either. But I thought she was using a new painfree sort of anaesthetic. Is it my brain giving out a natural anaesthetic?

 

I wonder whether it would work if I told my brain:

 

“You can hear, of course you can hear. Don’t be silly; you don’t need these aids.”

 

I tried it, but wildly overslept on the first attempt and was late for the dental appointment. Has anyone else tried this sort of attempt at persuading the brain?

 

Have a great hearing week

 

 

 

Debbie

 

 

 

Debbie Jeffrey

 

 

 

 

We love feedback!

